Setting up the Christmas tree, reading more scriptures, cleaning carpets, and other odds and ends…one week from surgery day

I’ve had a full morning of odds and ends, preceeded by a fun night of getting geared up for Christmas with the kids. It’s been remarkably blissful and calming.  My mind is clear today and my heart joyful.  I have motivation and purpose on my side again :).  I fully attribute this to my loving Heavenly Father.  I was not so gently nudged by The Holy Spirit to ask for a Priesthood blessing yesterday at church, instead of waiting until sometime this weekend as I’d planned.  What a miracle and truly a blessing it is to have worthy priesthood holders in my life who jump to it whenever I ask! 
I’m also certain that my resolve to read more in the scriptures personally each day and more reading in them with my family as well has added to that calm.  I spent almost an hour this morning reading and studying about spiritual gifts from God.  Even the gift of knowledge and wisdom, which immediately brought me back around to the gratitude I have for my doctors and surgeons who have that special gift.  Calm and peace washed over me as I thought of the very capable hands I will be in this coming week. Hands of people who WANT to be in the profession they are in, who do this job with the best outcome for Breast Cancer survivors in mind. Serving others in their own way, with the gifts they’ve been given. They didn’t have to be in this field, and they didn’t have to stay, but they did and they do! 

What a blessing to know this as I go about my odds and ends to finish preparing for this big event in my life!

Leave a comment